Councillor and Wiltshire Council officers awarded Queen's Birthday Honours

Councillor and Wiltshire Council officers awarded Queen's Birthday Honours

Four members of Conservative led Wiltshire Council have been awarded honours in the 2019 Queen's Birthday Honours list.

Conservative Councillor Fleur de Rhé-Philipe, Wiltshire Council member for Warminster Without and Portfolio Holder for Strategic Highways, Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, European Structural Investment Fund, Canals and Military-Civilian Integration, has been awarded an MBE for services to local government and the community.

Fleur has been a Conservative Councillor in Wiltshire since 1997, when she was first elected to Wiltshire County Council. In 2009 she was elected to the newly-formed Wiltshire Council, where she has served both as cabinet member and portfolio holder.

Fleur has been instrumental in finding a solution for the A303 at Stonehenge, ensuring that this major highway both serves the people of Wiltshire and the wider south west while at the same time protecting Stonehenge and Avebury World Heritage Site.

She has also contributed to the wellbeing of the county in many other fields, particularly economic development and planning, playing a key role in securing investment for Porton Down Science Park and Wiltshire's Military Civilian Integration Partnership.

In recognition of their work during and after the 2018 incidents in Salisbury and Amesbury, Wiltshire Council Executive Director Alistair Cunningham has been awarded an OBE. Director Robin Townsend and Network Operations Manager Simon Rowe have received MBEs for services to the community in South Wiltshire.

Alistair chaired the South Wiltshire Recovery Coordinating Group, Robin was vice chair. Simon worked on the operational side of the Recovery Coordinating Group. All three worked tirelessly in both the response and recovery phases of the incident including the clean-up operation, to help both Salisbury and Amesbury return to normality as quickly and effectively as possible.

Baroness Scott of Bybrook OBE, Leader of Conservative led Wiltshire Council, said: "We're delighted that Fleur, Alistair, Robin and Simon have been honoured in this way.

"Fleur is a dedicated and passionate public servant whose commitment, drive and determination over many years has made Wiltshire a better place to live. She has devoted much of her life to the people of Wiltshire, to making the county a more prosperous place for its inhabitants, and to making Wiltshire a more attractive place to visit.

"The awards for Alistair, Robin and Simon reflect their roles during the incidents in Salisbury and Amesbury. The response and recovery effort during these difficult times was exemplary and a superb example of partnership working across both local and central government, blue light services and the military. Congratulations to them all on these well-deserved honours."

Fleur de Rhé-Philipe said: "I am honoured to receive this award and I'm proud to have served Wiltshire's communities for many years. There have been many challenges as well as special moments during this time, and I am pleased that I have been able to make a positive difference to the county, and the people who live, work and visit here."

Alistair said: "Robin, Simon and I are honoured to be nominated for these awards, which reflect the hard work and dedication that everyone at Wiltshire Council and our partners put in to support South Wiltshire during a very difficult time. It was very much a team effort, not only by those involved in the response but also by those who continued to provide high-quality services across Wiltshire so we could focus on the work in South Wiltshire over a 12-month period."

by Charlie Monro,